Anwendungen

GRE-Score für Harvard: Welcher Score Sie benötigen und GRE-bezogene FAQs

Welcher GRE-Score ist für die Harvard University erforderlich? Sollten Sie sich trotzdem bewerben, wenn Sie ein schlechtes Ergebnis haben? Erhalten alle zugelassenen Studenten hervorragende GRE-Ergebnisse? Hier beantworte ich einige FAQs zum GRE-Score für Harvard.

Was ist die erforderliche Mindestpunktzahl für Harvard?

Hallo, Harvard-Anwärter! Wenn Sie sich für ein Masterprogramm bewerben, stellen Sie sich wahrscheinlich am häufigsten die Frage, welche GRE-Punktzahl für die Harvard University erforderlich ist. Ergebnisse aus standardisierten Tests wie GMAT, SAT, LSAT und GRE sind ein wichtiger Bestandteil jeder Universitätsbewerbung in den USA. Und Harvard ist nicht anders.

Für die Harvard University ist kein Mindest-GRE-Score erforderlich. GRE ist jedoch ein sehr wichtiger Teil Ihrer Bewerbung und Bewerber sollten ihr Bestes geben, um eine gute Punktzahl zu erzielen, um sich um einen Platz in Harvard zu bewerben. Andere Teile Ihrer Bewerbung, wie Empfehlungsschreiben, persönlicher Aufsatz, College-GPA und Lebenslauf, sind jedoch ebenso wichtig. Wenn Sie also einen niedrigen GRE-Wert haben, konzentrieren Sie sich darauf, diese zu verbessern.

Die Schüler müssen die Ergebnisse der GRE- oder Graduate Record Examination direkt über den Testservice an die Harvard-Schule senden, für die Sie sich bewerben. Sie sind ein notwendiger Bestandteil des Zulassungsverfahrens von Graduiertenschulen in Harvard, wie z. B. für die Harvard Graduate School of Education (GSE), die Harvard Graduate School of Arts and Sciences (GSAS) usw. Sogar die Harvard Business School (HBS ) und die Harvard Kennedy School (HKS) akzeptieren GRE-Ergebnisse als Alternativen zum GMAT.

Was ist der minimale GRE-Score, den Sie für Harvard benötigen?

Welche Punktzahl ist für die Harvard University erforderlich?

Welche GRE-Mindestpunktzahl kann also sicherstellen, dass die Zulassungsbeauftragten Ihre Bewerbung in die engere Auswahl nehmen? Gibt es einen „guten“ GRE-Score, der Ihnen eine Zulassung in Harvard ermöglicht? Gibt es einen Standard-GRE-Score-Bereich, den alle Harvard-Studenten haben? Wenn ja, warum listet die Harvard-Zulassungswebsite diese Mindest- oder „gute“ Punktzahl nicht auf, die Sie benötigen? Halten sie das geheim? Es kann beunruhigend sein, herauszufinden, dass Sie die GRE-Anforderung nirgendwo auf der Website sehen können. Was ist die Punktzahlanforderung?

Diese Fragen sind häufig. Sehr gewöhnlich. Ich bekomme sie ständig von Bewerbern. Tatsächlich glaubte sogar ich, bevor ich mich bewarb, dass eine Spitzenuniversität wie Harvard ein Mindestmaß an GRE-Punkte im Kopf haben muss, um die Würdigung ihrer Bewerber in der engeren Auswahl zu gewährleisten.

Bewerber glauben oft, dass sie an den Top-Universitäten einen bestimmten GRE-Mindestpunktwert benötigen, unter dem die Zulassungsstelle Ihre Bewerbung nicht einmal berücksichtigt. Aber das ist weit von der Wahrheit entfernt, wie ich erst erfahren habe, als ich aufgenommen wurde.

Sicher, die meisten Universitäten verlangen, dass Sie Ihre GRE-Ergebnisse einreichen. Die meisten geben jedoch keinen GRE-Mindestwert an und die Harvard University hat auch keinen. Sie können also sagen, dass es für die Harvard University keinen Mindest-GRE-Score gibt.

Wie wichtig sind GRE-Scores in Bewerbungen?

Auch wenn Harvard-Zulassungswebsites keine GRE-Mindestpunktzahl angeben, können Sie davon ausgehen, dass GRE-Ergebnisse ein wichtiger Bestandteil Ihrer Bewerbung sind. Und deshalb legen Mitbewerber großen Wert auf die GRE-Vorbereitung.

Harvard hat keinen Mangel an qualifizierten Bewerbern. Sie hat eine der niedrigsten Zulassungsquoten unter den Universitäten der Welt. Es ist also keine Überraschung, dass Sie mit anderen Schülern der ersten Klasse konkurrieren, mit großartigen Extracurriculars in ihren Lebensläufen und Top-GRE-Ergebnissen. Es gibt keinen Grund, warum Sie nicht Ihr Bestes geben sollten, um das bestmögliche GRE-Ergebnis zu erzielen.

Hier ist ein Zitat von der Website der Harvard Graduate School of Education. „Ihre GRE-Testergebnisse sind ein wichtiger Bestandteil Ihrer Bewerbung, und Sie sollten sich bemühen, Ihre bestmöglichen Ergebnisse einzureichen. Wir überprüfen sie genau, weil wir festgestellt haben, dass diejenigen mit guten Ergebnissen bis zu einem gewissen Grad am besten geeignet sind, um ein Abschlussstudium an der HGSE zu absolvieren.“

Daher ist es wichtig, drei Dinge zu verstehen:

1. GRE ist nur eines von vielen, vielen Dingen, die Zulassungsstellen der Harvard University als Teil einer Bewerbung berücksichtigen. Die anderen Dinge, wie Ihr Notendurchschnitt, Empfehlungsschreiben, persönliches Statement usw. sind genauso wichtig. Am Ende beurteilen sie einen Bewerber nach dem „Gesamtpaket“, nicht nur nach einer Sache.

2. Ein „gutes“ Ergebnis kann Ihnen weder einen Platz in Harvard garantieren noch kann ein „schlechtes“ Ergebnis Ihre Bewerbung disqualifizieren.

3. Tatsache ist, dass Sie sich an einer der besten Universitäten der Welt bewerben und mit einigen der talentiertesten Studenten konkurrieren. Also gib GRE dein Bestes. Sie brauchen das Beste in Ihrer Bewerbung, wenn Sie die Quoten zu Ihren Gunsten haben wollen.

Durchschnittliche GRE-Werte für Harvard Graduate Schools

studentenprüfung studieren

Wir wissen nicht genau, welchen GRE-Score die Harvard University verlangt. Einige Harvard-Graduiertenschulen listen jedoch die durchschnittlichen GRE-Ergebnisse ihrer zuvor zugelassenen Klasse auf. Dies ist eigentlich sehr hilfreich, falls Sie sich auf die Prüfung vorbereiten. Es kann jedoch auch entmutigend und/oder irreführend sein, da Sie vielleicht glauben, dass Ihre Bewerbung nicht berücksichtigt wird, wenn Sie eine geringere Punktzahl erreichen.

Das ist die Harvard Guaduate School of Design Webseite sagt über die durchschnittlichen GRE-Ergebnisse: „Die durchschnittlichen GRE-Ergebnisse für Incoming-Studenten betragen 157 (von 170) für die mündlichen, 159 für die quantitativen und 4,0 (von 5,0) für die analytischen Schreibabschnitte. Wir empfehlen Ihnen, sich unabhängig davon zu bewerben, ob Sie diese Richtlinien erfüllen oder nicht, und denken Sie daran, dass alle Bestandteile der Bewerbung berücksichtigt werden.“

Lesen Sie auch: Zulassungsvoraussetzungen der Harvard University für indische Studenten

Ich kenne nicht einmal die Punktzahl der meisten meiner Harvard-Klassenkameraden, aber ich habe alles von 1200 bis 1400 (von 1600) gesehen. Persönlich war meine Punktzahl 1330 von 1600. Ich erzielte 750/800 in quantitativer und 580/800 in mündlicher Form.

Wenn Sie einen niedrigen GRE-Score haben, sollten Sie sich trotzdem bewerben oder den GRE nächstes Jahr erneut ablegen?

Durchschnittliche GRE-Werte für Harvard Graduate Schools

Dies ist eine weitere häufige Frage im Zusammenhang mit dem für die Harvard University erforderlichen GRE-Score. Wenn Sie die Prüfung noch nicht geschrieben haben und das Gefühl haben, eine schlechte Punktzahl zu bekommen, weil Sie nicht gut genug vorbereitet sind, empfehle ich Ihnen, die Prüfung gar nicht erst abzulegen. Bereiten Sie sich einfach gut vor und legen Sie die Prüfung im nächsten Jahr ab, damit Sie nichts unversucht lassen, die bestmögliche Bewerbung zu senden.

Wenn Sie bereits eine niedrige Punktzahl erhalten haben, ist es etwas schwierig, diese Frage zu beantworten. Zum einen, wie niedrig ist die Punktzahl? Wenn es niedriger als 100/800 ist, ja, würde ich empfehlen, die Prüfung im nächsten Jahr erneut zu machen und sich dann zu bewerben. Beachten Sie jedoch, dass die Universitäten alle Ihre bisherigen Ergebnisse berücksichtigen. Aber natürlich, wenn Sie Ihre Punktzahl deutlich verbessern, werden sie dies berücksichtigen.

Glücklicherweise beantwortet Harvard die Frage, welchen GRE-Score Sie benötigen, auf seine eigene Weise. Hier ist ein weiteres Zitat von der Harvard GSE Zulassungs-Website. „Wenn Ihre GRE-Werte signifikant niedrig sind (dh unter dem 50. Perzentil in Verbal, dem 30. Perzentil in Quantitativem und 3,5 in Analytical Writing), werden Ihre Chancen auf eine Zulassung stark reduziert. Wir haben gesehen, dass das Programm unter diesen Umständen eine ziemliche Herausforderung darstellen kann. Erfolgreiche Bewerberinnen und Bewerber mit niedrigeren Punktzahlen haben in den letzten Jahren überzeugende Berufserfahrungen und nachgewiesene Studienleistungen in anderen Bereichen der Bewerbung erbracht.“

Sicherlich haben alle Harvard-Graduiertenschulen ihre eigenen Definitionen dafür, welche Punktzahl sie für zu niedrig halten. Dies ist nur ein Beispiel. Schauen Sie also auf der Website der Schule nach, bei der Sie sich bewerben.

shilpa ahuja-harvard-graduiertenschule-mindestens-anforderung

Ist Ihre Bewerbung insgesamt stark trotz eines niedrigen GRE-Scores?

Wenn Ihre Punktzahl gemäß Ihren Erwartungen „niedrig“ ist, bedeutet dies nicht unbedingt, dass Sie sich nicht bewerben sollten. Wie bereits erwähnt, berücksichtigt Harvard alle Teile Ihrer Bewerbung. Empfehlungsschreiben, Lebenslauf, Absichtserklärung und akademische Zeugnisse / Bachelor-GPA sind ebenfalls wichtig. Wenn Sie also eine starke Gesamtbewerbung haben, haben Sie auch bei einer niedrigen Punktzahl noch gute Chancen, angenommen zu werden.

Ich hoffe, ich konnte die meisten Ihrer Fragen zu GRE beantworten. Wenn Sie weitere Fragen dazu haben, welchen GRE-Score Sie für die Harvard University benötigen, kommentieren Sie bitte unten. Ich versuche es zu beantworten oder wenn nötig, versuche ich noch einen Beitrag dazu zu schreiben.

Alles Gute!

Klicken um zu kommentieren

Hinterlasse eine Antwort

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Nach oben

Applications

GRE Score for Harvard: What Score You Need & GRE-Related FAQs

What GRE score is required for Harvard University? Should you still apply if you got a bad score? Do all admitted students get great GRE scores? Here, I answer some FAQs about GRE score for Harvard.

What is the Minimum Score Required for Harvard

Hello, Harvard aspirants! If you’re applying for a masters program, one of the most common questions you’re probably asking is what GRE score is required for Harvard University. Scores from standardized tests like GMAT, SAT, LSAT and GRE are required as an important part of any university applications in the US. And Harvard is no different.

There is no minimum GRE score required for Harvard University. However, GRE is a very crucial part of your application and applicants should try their best to get a great score in order to compete for a spot at Harvard. That said, other parts of your application, like recommendation letters, personal essay, college GPA and resume are equally important. So if you have a low GRE score, concentrate on improving these.

Students need to send the scores of GRE or Graduate Record Examination directly via testing service to the Harvard school you’re applying. They’re a necessary part of graduate schools’ admission process at Harvard, such as for Harvard Graduate School of Education (GSE), Harvard Graduate School of Arts and Sciences (GSAS), etc.. In fact, even Harvard Business School (HBS) and Harvard Kennedy School (HKS) accept GRE scores as alternatives to GMAT.

What is the Minimum GRE Score You Need for Harvard?

What Score is Required for Harvard University

So what minimum GRE score can ensure that the admissions officers shortlist your application? Is there a “good” GRE score that can get you admission at Harvard? Is there a ballpark GRE score range that all Harvard students have? If so, why doesn’t Harvard admissions website list this minimum or “good” score you require? Are they keeping this a secret? It can be unnerving to find out that you cannot see GRE requirement on the website anywhere. What’s the score requirement?

These questions are common. Very common. I get them all the time from applicants. In fact, even I used to believe before I applied, that a top university like Harvard must have some minimum GRE score in their mind to ensure the worthiness of their shortlisted applicants.

Applicants often believe that they require a certain minimum GRE score at the top universities, less than which, the admissions office won’t even consider your application. But this is far from the truth, as I learned only once I was admitted.

Sure, most universities require you to submit your GRE scores. However, most don’t specify a minimum GRE score and Harvard University doesn’t have any either. So you can say that there is no minimum GRE score for Harvard University.

How Important are GRE Scores in Applications?

Even though Harvard admissions websites don’t specify a minimum GRE score, it’s safe to assume that GRE scores are quite an important part of your application. And that’s why you see fellow applicants place a lot of importance on GRE preparation.

Harvard has no dearth of qualified applicants. It has one of the lowest admission rates amongst universities in the world. So it’s no surprise that you’re competing with other straight-A students, with great extra-curriculars on their resumes and top GRE scores. There’s no reason you shouldn’t try your best to get the best GRE score you can.

Here’s a quote from Harvard Graduate School of Education’s website. “Your GRE test scores are one important part of your application, and you should strive to submit your best possible scores. We review them closely, because we have found that to some degree, those with strong scores are best positioned to succeed in graduate study at HGSE.”

So it’s important to understand three things:

1. GRE is just one of the many, many things Harvard University admissions offices consider as a part of an application. The other things, like your GPA, letters of recommendation, personal statement, etc. are just as important. At the end, they judge an applicant by the total “package”, not just one thing.

2. A “good” score cannot guarantee you a spot at Harvard, nor can a “bad” score disqualify your application.

3. The fact still stands, you’re applying to one of the top universities in the world, competing with some of the most talented students. So give GRE your best shot. You need the best everything in your application if you want the odds in your favor.

Average GRE Scores for Harvard Graduate Schools

students exam studying

We don’t know exactly what GRE score Harvard University requires. However, some Harvard graduate schools do list average GRE scores of their previously admitted class. This is actually quite helpful, in case you’re preparing to take the exam. However, it can also be daunting and/or misleading, since you may begin to believe that your application won’t be considered if you get a lesser score.

Here’s what the Harvard Guaduate School of Design website says about average GRE scores, “The average GRE scores for incoming students are 157 (out of 170) for the verbal, 159 for the quantitative, and 4.0 (out of 5.0) for the analytical writing sections. We encourage you to apply whether or not you meet these guidelines, keeping in mind that all components of the application are taken into consideration.”

Also read: Harvard University Admission Requirements for Indian Students

I don’t even know the score of most of my Harvard classmates, but have seen anything from 1200s to 1400 (out of 1600). Personally, my score was 1330 out of 1600. I scored 750/800 in quantitative and 580/800 in verbal.

If You Got a Low GRE Score, Should You Apply Anyway, or Take the GRE Again Next Year?

Average GRE Scores for Harvard Graduate Schools

This is another common question related to what GRE score is required for Harvard University. If you haven’t yet written the exam, and you have a feeling that you’re going to get a bad score ’cause you aren’t well enough prepared, I’d recommend not sitting for the exam at all. Just prepare well and take the exam next year, so that you leave no stone unturned in sending the best application you can.

If you’ve already received a low score, it’s a little tricky to answer this question. For one, how low is the score? If it’s lower than 100/800, yes, I’d recommend to take the exam again next year and then apply. However, please note that universities do take all of your previous scores into consideration. Bu of course, if you improve on your score significantly, they’ll consider that.

Fortunately, Harvard does answer the question on what GRE score you need, in its own way. Here’s another quote from Harvard GSE admission website. “If your GRE scores are significantly low (i.e., below the 50 percentile in Verbal, the 30 percentile in Quantitative, and 3.5 in Analytical Writing), your chances for admission will be greatly reduced. We have seen that the program can be quite challenging under these circumstances. In recent years, successful applicants with lower scores have presented compelling professional experience and provided evidence of demonstrated academic ability in other areas of the application.”

Certainly, all Harvard grad schools may have their own definitions of what score they consider to be too low. This is just one example. So do check the website of the school you’re applying to.

shilpa ahuja-harvard-graduate-school-minimum-requirement

Is Your Overall Application Strong Despite a Low GRE Score?

If your score is “low” as per your expectation, that doesn’t necessarily mean you should not apply. As I mentioned earlier, Harvard takes into account all parts of your application. Letters of recommendation, resume, letter of intent and academic transcripts/undergraduate GPA are important, too. So if you have a strong overall application, you still have a good chance at getting accepted even with a low score.

So I hope I was able to answer most of your questions related to GRE. If you have any further questions about what GRE score you need for Harvard University, please comment below. I’ll try to answer it or if necessary, I’ll try to write another post about it.

All the best!

6 Comments

6 Comments

  1. Shane

    October 28, 2018 at 11:38 am

    That’s really informative, thanks Shilpa !!

  2. Gary

    April 6, 2019 at 9:36 am

    I found this very helpful.

  3. Winnifred Touby

    June 25, 2019 at 6:55 am

    Thanks a ton for your post. I’m applying this fall.

  4. Carson Kearns

    August 31, 2019 at 9:09 am

    I was suggested this blog by my cousin.
    You’re amazing! Thanks!

  5. Lakshita Merchant

    February 13, 2020 at 10:56 am

    If you want to improve your knowledge simply keep visiting
    this site and be updated with the latest information posted here.

  6. Bhairava

    May 15, 2020 at 12:41 pm

    Great Insights Shilpa. Also what percentage would a candidate require if he’s an Indian student from an average college. (currently standing at 75% in 3rd Semester, pursuing a full-time Bachelors in Business with a concentration in Data Science). Also working full-time for HR Operations at a Tech firm (Accenture) simultaneously. Supporting North American employees. Did an Internship at a startup (Market Research & Startup Investment Analyst) during a semester break. Became the Class Representative for a semester then had to back out due to time constraints. I barely get 4-5 hours of rest between full time studies & full time job.

    Extracurriculars:
    Was a part of a few clubs (quiz, poetry, fashion)
    Participated in the patent competition (our college had a collaboration with the State’s IP division)
    participated in an entrepreneurship competition (submitted a business plan, got a certificate and was registered for the incubation center)

    Other than that, I got an all access pass for Coursera sponsored by my college. Finished 6-7 specializations (tech, business, psychology, art & innovation, investing etc) and built a few apps and did a few capstone projects. Also got certified in PRINCE2 (project management). Now also considering Chartered Data Scientist qualifications but not sure if I can clear.

    I’m interested in either the 2 year MBA from HBS or the Masters in design engineering from GSD. How is the GPA calculated? Is it true that 80% is just 3.0 GPA?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

To Top