应用

哈佛 GPA 截止:您需要申请多少百分比?

今年申请哈佛,想知道你的分数是否足以被招生委员会录取?这是您需要了解的有关哈佛 GPA 截止的所有信息。

哈佛GPA截止

印度百分比系统和截止值

对于印度学生来说,分数一直是我们生活的重要组成部分。事实上,它们是衡量学术成功程度的最重要条件。当然,我们的学术体系包括艺术、测验、辩论、学校俱乐部等课外活动,但从父母到老师再到亲戚,每个人都最重视分数和百分比。

在印度,标记之所以如此重要,部分原因是很容易将数字与数字进行比较。简单的。这就是为什么印度大学/学校的招生很少考虑课外成就的原因。

因此,当一所高中必须决定哪些学生可以选择理科,哪些学生可以选择艺术或商业时,他们总是有一个“截止”分数。就像在我的学校(Bhavan's)一样,我们让在 10 年级获得 85% 或更高分数的学生被允许学习科学(医学或非医学)流。事实上,这个系统甚至在高中之前就开始了。就像学校经常有低年级招生的截止制度。

大学研究生课程申请如何咨询

这种截止制度也适用于大学,允许获得一定百分比或成绩的学生申请某些学位或大学。这就是为什么当印度学生申请外国大学的硕士或大学时,他们希望分数在他们的申请中很重要。

还请查看: 哈佛大学印度学生入学要求

然而,对于哈佛大学来说,情况并非如此,就像许多常春藤盟校一样。我经常从潜在的哈佛申请者那里收到这个问题,“哈佛的 GPA 截止点是多少?”让我们讨论。

GPA 作为整体申请的一部分

当您填写哈佛或其他美国大学的申请时,他们会询问您的 GPA 或学术成绩。无论您申请哪个学位,您的学校成绩或学术成绩都是哈佛申请的重要组成部分。除了 GPA,录取表格还要求您提交其他详细信息,例如标准化考试成绩、推荐信、 论文写作 或者在某些情况下,简历或作品集。

还请查看: 哈佛录取标准:他们真正在寻找什么?

哈佛-申请-流程-基础-初学者-大学-招生

你将申请的哈佛学校招生办公室会认为你的分数或百分比是一个重要因素。由于他们了解印度的评分系统,我推测他们可能会有一个转换系统将其转换为可以与其他国际系统进行比较的 GPA。

哈佛 GPA 截止

尽管 GPA 很重要,但它只是整个应用程序的一部分。就像 SAT/GRE 成绩一样,哈佛从不指定申请或获得资格所需的任何最低 GPA。虽然您可以找到您申请的学校的平均 GPA,但与其他申请者相比,您可以很好地了解自己所处的位置。

哈佛大学研究生院或哈佛学院没有 GPA 截止值。 

哈佛学校证实了这一事实。例如,根据哈佛商学院的招生网站,“虽然我们的学生通常有很强的本科成绩,但申请没有最低 GPA。”

学院的招生网站实际上并没有具体说明这一点,但从他们没有提到哈佛学院的任何 GPA 截止点这一事实可以看出,甚至接受没有任何标准学校颁发的 GPA 的在家上学的学生的申请.此外,他们也提到了 SAT 分数,“没有分数截止,我们不承认‘数字’……我们在审查你的分数时会考虑你的教育背景。”

哈佛只适合直接a学生-gpa低

哈佛的 GPA 截止值:让我们谈谈实际数字

如果你真的想更加确定你的 GPA 是否足以申请哈佛,一个好主意是将它与最新一门课程的平均 GPA 进行比较。

例如,HBS 披露了他们的 班级简介 每年,对于 2021 届,平均 GPA 为 3.70(满分 4.0)。哈佛录取学生前25% 法学院 另一方面,2022 年 JD 班的平均 GPA 为 3.96。

hbs哈佛商学院演讲厅教室

但是,如您所见,存在一个问题。几乎不可能知道这些分数将如何转化为印度评分系统。从技术上讲,被录取的学生可以获得 60%-100% 分数。虽然,实际上,我认为大多数被录取的学生都会获得 A 或 A+ 成绩和 80%+ 分数。这在印度可能会有很大差异,这取决于他们大学的评分系统有多宽松。

另请阅读: 如何从印度评分系统 (%age) 计算您的 GPA

以低GPA申请哈佛

虽然从技术上讲,学校可能会指定哈佛没有实际的 GPA 截止值,但你不应该认为学术地位低会创造出有价值的申请。

我们不要让哈佛没有 GPA 分界线这一事实欺骗你,让你认为被录取很容易,或者哈佛的名额可以“用钱买”,或者如果你是班上的佼佼者,很容易进入,或您可能听说过的任何其他神话。哈佛是最具竞争力的大学之一,也是世界上最难进入的大学之一。大学 2024 届的录取率为 4.5%,这让我们很好地了解了竞争的激烈程度。

我在哈佛的所有同学在学术上都非常优秀。即使是那些声称自己是“普通学生”的人也有其他学术成就,比如获得学术奖项。也就是说,我所有的同学在申请之前都不是班上的佼佼者,当然包括我自己。 (我的本科学位累积分数为 72%)。

哈佛大学校园参观 安纳伯格学院

如果您的 GPA 或百分比不高,您还应该申请吗?是的,你绝对应该这样做,因为每个学校和申请者对“低”的定义是不同的。觉得自己可以通过一点额外努力获得 95% 分数的人会认为 92% 低,而平均 70% 的人会认为 60% 低。事实上,招生官会考虑你的整体申请,而不仅仅是你的分数。

你可以在这里阅读更多: 哈佛只招A级学生吗?哈佛与成绩

幸运的是,对于像我这样的非顶尖人才,哈佛会考虑你的所有背景。他们知道并不是每个人都能在标准化考试中取得好成绩。有些人在其他领域做得很好,比如有些人在第一份工作中取得了早期的成功。有些人在实习中表现非常出色,有些人在课外活动中是国家级的表演者。其他人做了值得称道的社区服务。

所以总而言之,你需要有一个整体强大的应用程序,而不是仅仅担心你的 GPA。以低GPA进入哈佛是绝对有可能的。而且GPA很高也有可能被拒。

希望这能澄清你的很多顾虑。有任何问题或想法吗?给我们发推文 @htgharvard 在推特上。

一切顺利!

接下来阅读:

哈佛的GRE成绩需要多少

点击评论

发表评论

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。

到达顶点

Applications

GPA Cutoff for Harvard: What Percentage Do You Need to Apply?

1+

Applying to Harvard this year and wondering whether your marks are enough for admissions committee? Here’s everything you need to know about GPA cutoff for Harvard.

GPA cutoff for Harvard

Indian Percentage System & Cutoffs

For Indian students, marks have always been an important part of our lives. In fact, they are the most important qualifier of how academically successful are. Of course, our academic system includes extra-curricular activities like arts, quizzes, debates, school clubs and what not, but from parents to teachers to relatives, everyone places the most importance on marks and percentages.

In India, marks matter so much partly because it’s easy to compare numbers to numbers. Simple. This is the reason why admissions in Indian colleges/schools barely consider extra-curricular achievements.

So when a high school has to make the decision on which students get to choose the science stream and which ones get arts or commerce, they always have a marks “cutoff”. Like in my school (Bhavan’s), we had students who got 85% or more in the 10th grade were allowed to take up science (medical or non-medical) stream. In fact, this system starts even before high school. Like schools often have cut-off system for admissions in junior classes.

university graduate school program applications how to advice

This cutoff system also applies to colleges, where students who have received a certain percentage or grade are allowed to apply for certain degrees or colleges. And this is why when Indian students apply to foreign universities for masters or college, they expect marks to matter a lot in their application.

Also check out: Harvard University Admission Requirements for Indian Students

However, for Harvard University, this is not the case, as is with many ivy league universities. I get this question from prospective Harvard applicants a lot, “What’s the GPA Cutoff for Harvard?” Let’s discuss.

GPA as a Part of Your Overall Application

When you’re filling in your Harvard or other US universities application, they’ll ask for your GPA or academic score. Your school marks or academic scores are an important part of the Harvard application, no matter which degree you’re applying for. Along with the GPA, the admission form requires you to submit other details too, like standardized test scores, recommendation letters, essay or in some cases, resume or portfolio.

Also check out: Harvard Admission Criteria: What are They Really Looking for?

Harvard-Application-Process-basics-beginners-university-admissions

The Harvard school admissions office you’ll be applying to will consider your marks or percentage to be an important factor. And as they understand the Indian grading system, I’m speculating they’ll possibly have a conversion system to convert it to GPA that can be compared with other international system.

GPA Cutoff for Harvard

As important as the GPA is, it’s only a part of the overall application. Just like the SAT/GRE scores, Harvard never specifies any minimum GPA you need in order to apply or qualify. Although you can find an average GPA for the school you’re applying to, which will give you a pretty good idea of where you stand compared to other applicants.

There is no GPA cutoff for Harvard University graduate schools or Harvard College. 

Harvard schools confirm this fact. For example, according to Harvard Business School’s admissions website, “There is no minimum GPA to apply, although our students usually have strong undergraduate records.”

The admission website of College doesn’t actually specify this, however it’s evident from the fact that they don’t mention any GPA cutoff for Harvard College, and even accept applications from homeschooled students, who don’t have any standard school-issued GPA. Additionally, they mention this about SAT scores too, “There are no score cutoffs, and we do not admit ‘by the numbers’… We take into account your educational background when reviewing your scores.”

is harvard only for straight a students - low gpa

GPA Cutoff for Harvard: Let’s Talk Actual Numbers

If you really want to be doubly sure whether your GPA is good enough to apply to Harvard, a good idea is to compare it with the average GPA of the latest class.

For example, HBS reveals their Class Profile every year, and for the Class of 2021, the average GPA is 3.70 (out of 4.0). The top 25% of admitted students in Harvard Law School for J.D. Class of 2022, on the other hand, had an average GPA of 3.96.

hbs harvard business school lecture hall classroom

As you can see, however, there is one problem. It’s almost impossible to know how these scores would translate to the Indian grading system. Technically, the admitted students could have received anywhere from 60%-100% marks. Although, practically speaking, I would assume that most students admitted would have received A or A+ grades and 80%+ marks. This can vary highly within India, depending on how lenient the grading system at their college is.

Also read: How to Calculate Your GPA from Indian Grading System (%age)

Applying to Harvard with Low GPA

While technically speaking, the schools may specify that there’s no actual GPA cutoff for Harvard, you shouldn’t assume that having a low academic standing will create a worthy application.

Let’s not let the fact that there’s no GPA cutoff for Harvard fool you into thinking that getting admission is easy or a spot at Harvard can be “bought with money” or it’ll be easy to get in if you’re a class topper, or whatever other myth you may have heard. Harvard is one of the most competitive universities and one of the hardest in the world to get into. The Class of 2024 in College saw a 4.5% admission rate, which gives us a good idea of how tough the competition is.

All of my classmates at Harvard were academically very strong. Even those who claimed they were “average students” had other academic achievements, like winning academic awards. That said, all my classmates were not toppers of their class before applying, myself certainly included. (I had 72% cumulative marks in my undergrad degree).

harvard university campus tour college annenberg-hall

Should you still apply if you don’t have a high GPA or percentage? Yes, you definitely should, since the definition of “low” is different for every school and applicant. Someone who feels they can get 95% marks with a little extra effort will consider 92% low, while someone with an average 70% will consider 60% low. Indeed, the admissions officers will consider your overall application, not just your marks.

You can read more here: Is Harvard Only for Straight-A Students? Harvard vs. Grades

Fortunately for non-toppers like myself, Harvard considers everything about your background. They know that not everyone is able to score well on standardized tests. Some people do well in other fields, like some achieve early success in their first jobs. Ssome perform extremely well in internships, some are national-level performers in extra-curricular activities. Others have done commendable community service.

So in conclusion, you need to have an overall strong application instead of worrying just about your GPA. It’s definitely possible to get into Harvard with a low GPA. And it’s also possible to be rejected with a very high GPA.

Hope this clarifies a lot of your concerns. Have any questions or thoughts? Tweet us @htgharvard on Twitter.

All the best!

Read next:

What GRE Score Do You Need for Harvard

1+
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

To Top